In Bali, more than 60% of the population lives below the poverty line. Schools, colleges, high schools and universities are generally located far from villages and are too expensive for families to be able to afford to send their children. Consequently, a large number of children do not attend school.

The education of the younger generation is compromised due to the lack of information of adults who have not, themselves, been educated.  Girls, in particular, are penalized as the patriarchal system in Bali tends to prioritize and value boys more. To counteract these disparities and meet the UN MDGs (Millennium Development Goals), Anak has been mobilizing various sponsors, partners, donors since 2003… it also works with local families to raise awareness about the importance of the education of their children.

Reminder of Objectives:

  • Ensure primary education for all (MDG 2)
  • Promote equality and empowerment of women by means of educating young women (MDG 3)
  • Ensure a sustainable human environment with projects and activities around environmental awareness, waste management … (MDG 7)

In addition to the 300 sponsorships and scholarships managed by Anak since its creation, a first home “Dharma Cita” in Singaraja (North Bali) was created in 2013 by the association. Located close to universities, this home can accommodate 27 students (food and board) who can continue their studies in serenity right through to graduation.  The vast majority of these students are boys. In 2017, thanks to the children’s sponsorships over a period of 14 years and the awareness work carried out by Anak teams in the villages, there is a growing tendency to rebalance the sexes with a growing number of young women wishing to pursue higher education.

There are 22 young women wishing to pursue their studies and who would need to be housed near their high school or university. The Dharma Cita residence would be ideal, but since the number of places is limited to 27, it will not be possible to accommodate everyone. 49 students, including 24 young women (17 already current students and 7 new ones need to be accommodated before school starts back in July 2017.

For this reason, Anak plans to create a second home “Dharma Cita 2” to accommodate these students, with the expectation that the demand will increase each year. We anticipate that the number of children sponsored through Anak in attendance at Dharma Cita 1 and 2 would be an average of 50 students per year until 2023 and again, with increasing numbers of women.  The Dharma Cita 2 residence would therefore be exclusively for young women and Dharma Cita 1 would only be occupied by boys (60% of current occupants).

The aim of this Anak project is to give girls the same opportunities as boys in order to help them overcome these inequalities and the vicious circle of poverty.

Anak also plans to set up entrepreneurial workshops within Dharma Cita 2 to help these young women acquire additional skills and know-how. This will enable the young women, if they so desire or if they do not find work after graduation, to create an activity of production / sale (soaps, sewing, management and recycling of waste …) as a source of revenue.

To build this home Anak has acquired a 400m2 plot for the construction of a 250m2 building: 8 furnished bedrooms with bathroom (3 students per room), a kitchen, a large common room (events, visits, workshops …), purchase of furniture, recruitment of a cook / 24/7 caretaker, on-site coordinator to follow the overall management of the center (management/operations/human factor).

Buying the land was a wise move as real estate and land prices increase significantly every year.  Property rental would not make economic or sustainable sense. Dharma Cita 2 will be close to Dharma Cita 1, in order to keep a social link between the young people, the sharing of computers and school equipment if necessary … and facilitate the work of the on-site coordinator, present on a daily basis.

You can follow the progress of the work of this new boarding school on this website.

 

January 2017

The first plans are written and the search for a field is launched

 

April 2017

The acquisition of land for the construction of the boarding school is done, here is the place and a first visit is organized with our students.

 

November 2017

Our president Dwi and Restini, an architecture student in Anak sponsored students, are working on plans for the future boarding school to finalize them.

 

January 2018

The construction of the boundary wall will begin on January 23rd and to carry out this work, we will appeal to the parents of the sponsored children of Panji Anom but above all a ceremony is organized so that this work goes under the best hospices.

 

February 2018

The wall is finished and you can see the result in pictures.

 

October 2018

Earthworks start to sink the foundations and pillars.

On October 3rd, the NGERUAK ceremony is held to clean the place before the construction and to ask the spirits not to disturb us during the works.

Preparation of metal trellises for the construction of pillars.

 

Décember 2018

The construction of the pillars begins.

 

January 2019

The construction of the pillars is accelerating.

The construction of septic tanks

 

February 2019

First floor in progress

The slab of the first floor is poured

March 2019

A Bali, plus de 60 % de la population vit sous le seuil de pauvreté.
Les écoles, collèges, lycées et universités sont loin des villages et trop chers pour les familles. De nombreux enfants ne sont donc pas scolarisés.

Le manque d’information dû à la non scolarisation des adultes est également un véritable frein à l’éducation des nouvelles générations, en particulier pour les filles qui ne sont pas prises en compte contrairement aux garçons, davantage priorisés et valorisés par le système patriarcal de Bali. Pour contrer ces disparités et répondre aux OMD (Objectifs du Millénaire pour le Développement) de l’ONU, l’association Anak mobilise depuis 2003 de nombreux parrains, partenaires, donateurs… et travaille auprès des familles locales pour les sensibiliser à l’importance de l’éducation de leurs enfants.

Rappel des Objectifs :
• Assurer l’éducation primaire pour tous (OMD 2)
• Promouvoir l’égalité et l’autonomisation des femmes à travers la scolarisation des jeunes femmes jusqu’à l’obtention d’un diplôme (OMD 3)
• Assurer un environnement humain durable avec des projets et des activités autour de la sensibilisation à l’environnement, la gestion des déchets…(OMD 7)

En plus des 300 parrainages et des bourses aux études gérées par Anak depuis sa création, un premier foyer « Dharma Cita » à Singaraja (Nord de Bali) été créé en 2013 par l’association. Proche des universités, ce foyer permet d’accueillir 27 étudiants (logés, nourris) qui peuvent ainsi suivre leurs études sereinement jusqu’à l’obtention de leur diplôme dont la grande majorité reste des garçons. En 2017, grâce aux parrainages d’enfants suivis depuis 14 ans et au travail de sensibilisation mené par les équipes d’Anak dans les villages, cette proportion tend à se rééquilibrer avec un nombre croissant de jeunes femmes désirant faire des études supérieures.

En effet, 22 jeunes femmes souhaitent suivre des études et auraient besoin pour cela d’être logées près de leur lycée ou université. Le foyer Dharma Cita serait idéal mais les places d’accueil étant limitées à 27, il ne sera pas possible de les y accueillir. 49 étudiants, dont 24 jeunes femmes (17 déjà en cours d’étude et 7 nouvelles étudiantes ont besoin d’une place d’accueil pour la rentrée scolaire de juillet 2017.

Anak a donc pour projet la création d’un second foyer « Dharma Cita 2 » pour loger ces étudiantes, qui promettent d’être chaque année plus nombreuses. Selon le prévisionnel de la totalité des enfants parrainés via Anak, la fréquentation de Dharma Cita 1 et 2 serait d’une moyenne de 50 étudiants par an jusqu’en 2023 et encore après, avec de plus en plus de jeunes femmes. Dharma Cita 2 serait donc un foyer exclusivement de jeunes femmes et Dharma Cita 1 serait occupé uniquement par des garçons (60 % des occupants actuels).

A travers ce projet, Anak souhaite donner les mêmes chances aux filles qu’aux garçons pour les aider à sortir de ces inégalités et du cercle vicieux de la pauvreté.

Anak prévoit également de mettre en place, au sein du foyer Dharma Cita 2, des ateliers de développement d’entreprenariat afin de permettre à ces jeunes femmes d’acquérir des compétences et des savoir-faire complémentaires. Ces jeunes femmes pourront ainsi, si elles le souhaitent ou si elles ne trouvent pas de travail après leur diplôme, créer une activité de production/vente (savons, couture, gestion et recyclage des déchets…) et s’assurer ainsi un revenu.
Pour créer ce foyer Anak a acquis un terrain de 400 m2 permettant la construction d’un bâtiment de 250 m2 : 8 chambres équipées/salle de bains (3 étudiantes par chambre), une cuisine, une grande pièce commune de réunion (événements, visites, ateliers…), achat de mobilier, recrutement d’une cuisinière/ surveillante présente 24h/24h, mobilisation d’un coordinateur terrain pour suivre la gestion du centre dans sa globalité (gestion/opérationnel/humain).
L’achat du terrain est judicieux car les prix de l’immobilier et des terres augmentent considérablement chaque année. La location serait un gouffre et peu pérenne. Dharma Cita 2 sera proche de Dharma Cita 1, afin de garder un lien social entre les jeunes, le partage d’ordinateurs et de matériel scolaire le cas échéant… et facilitera le travail du coordinateur terrain local, présent au quotidien.

A travers cette page, suivez l’avancement des travaux de ce nouveau pensionnat.

 

Janvier 2017

Les premiers plans sont rédigés et la recherche d’un terrain est lancé

 

Avril 2017

L’acquisition du terrain pour la construction du pensionnat est faite, en voici le lieu et une première visite est organisé avec nos étudiants.

 

Novembre 2017

Notre président Dwi et Restini, étudiante en architecture faisant partie des élèves parrainées par Anak, travaillent sur les plans du futur pensionnat afin de les finaliser.

 

Janvier 2018

La construction du mur d’enceinte commencera le 23 janvier et pour effectuer ces travaux, nous ferons appel aux parents des enfants parrainés de Panji Anom mais avant tout une cérémonie est organisée pour que ces travaux se passent sous les meilleurs hospices.

 

Février 2018

Le mur d’enceinte est terminé et vous pouvez en voir le résultat en images.

 

Octobre 2018

Le terrassement démarre afin de couler les fondations et les piliers.

Le 03 octobre, la cérémonie de NGERUAK est organisée pour purifier le lieu avant la construction et pour demander aux esprits de ne pas nous déranger pendant les travaux.

Préparation des treillages métalliques pour la construction des piliers.

 

Décembre 2018

La construction des piliers commence.

Janvier 2019

La construction des piliers s’accélère.

La construction des fosses septiques

 

Février 2019

Le premier étage in progress

La dalle du premier étage est coulée

Mars 2019